Road Trip Over and Out

20120102-102724.jpg

We made it… 1320 miles or 2100 kilometers later and numerous gas/petrol refills.

During dinner last night with Janet and Mike, we were talking about the trip and I was asked the three major hits, or moments that I have taken me aback.

1. Signage, road and advertising signage is a major shock. To have street signs replaced within a week, is something never heard of. The intensity of the amount of signage is also a shock.
This is billboard country! Compared to South Africa, we have skyline posters.

2. The Size of the Grand Canyon, and the thought that just over there, 18km’s away, is the same type of land. And just as Sam said, the view is not positive, it’s a negative in the land scape. Mind boggling. From Google Earth, it looks like a positive structure.

3. The use of the Credit Card is universal. I’ve handled 4 or 5 $20 bills. And about 10 $1’s. I held a $100 once. And since then, everything has been in my Credit Card. Being free to swipe also changes the perspective. Oh bring on the day we get free banking transactions.

Although it’s the end of the trip for Sam. It’s not the end for me.
Becky is able to take me to LA for the last week of the trip. We’ve got a Ducks – Sharks Ice-Hockey game planned. A night on the Queen Mary Ship. A visit to Disneyland, Spruce Goose, Malibu and Getty House.

For now, I’m at Polo practice, watching some 18 girls swim 30, 100m lengths on a 1 minute 20 seconds.

Below I’ve got some photos of the drive into Bakersfield with the pollution hovering the city.

20120102-102636.jpg

20120102-102652.jpg

20120102-102659.jpg

Till LA…Cheers!

Comments are closed.

